Rhode Island Postal
Cards - Fist Day of Issue
Settling of Rhode Island by Roger Williams
Designed by David Blossom - Scott #UX112
Issued on June 26, 1986 in Providence, RI
Rhode Island Town Cancels (by
Rhode Island 02864
The Pawtucket Post Office
Cumberland Branch was opened in 1958 and remains open and in operation.
Cumberland was originally purchased by
the Plymouth Colony as a part of the Rehoboth land deal. It was later
transferred to Rhode Island.
One of the more interesting pieces of
early Rhode Island folklore is of 10 early settlers that were involved in a
fight with the Narragansetts in this area and that one of them fled the fight
promising to return, but never did. The man's name was Abbott and
many local roads are named after the man and the event; one such is Abbot
Run Valley Road. There is also a tomb on the grounds of the
Monastery of Our Lady of the Valley known as "Nine Men's Misery."
The area is also the site of the only
large deposit of Cumberlandite. Cumberlandite is a mineral ore
that is high in iron and titanium and during the Revolutionary War
it was used in the manufacture of cannon. Since the mineral is
unique to Rhode Island, it was made the "State Rock."
The earliest known settler in the area
was William Blackstone who arrived in 1635.
Pawtucket Cumberland Branch Post Office