The Towns & Post Offices of Rhode Island
1890-94 Crefeld Mills Corner Card - Saylesville, RI - DPO
(Scroll Down for History and Background Information)

The Saylesville Post Office, (Lincoln Township, Providence County) was established on September 12, 1881. under Postmaster Samuel Fessenden. The Post Office was disestablished on April 30, 1910 and reopened as a branch of the Pawtucket Post Office on May 1, 1930. The Branch was closed on February 21, 1958.

There is no date on this CDS, however the stamp is the 2 cent Carmine Rose Washington issue of 1890 (Scott Nr 220) which was replaced by the new 1894 regular issue (Scott Nr 250), thus the cover was most likely sent between 1890 and 1894.

SEE ALSO: Tercentenary First Day Issue - Town Cancel - Saylesville Branch 

Samuel Fessenden served as a 1st Lieutenant of Infantry during the Civil War; enlisting in August 1862 from Lincoln Township. He was discharged in 1865.

RI Historical Society
The Post Offices
Home Page
RI Tercentenary Issue History
RI Philatelic Society
Recently Added Pages
Philatelic Primer
Rhode Island Around the World
Rhode Island Town Postmarks
Other Websites of Interest

Return to Town
Cancels Part 24

Return to Commercial
Covers Part 2